Frog Music

Image result for small stars

(She gets one measly star, and that’s because I’m generous. I do not enjoy being mean. Really I don’t, but I prefer to be honest rather than sugarcoat the truth.)

18295858

I love you, Emma Donoghue. I really do. But what were you thinking?

I’ve been reading some of the positive reviews about this book in order  to understand what other people are seeing about it that I’m not, but I still don’t get it. I guess it’s just a matter of personal taste.

The book is about a dancer/prostitute who tries to solve the murder of her cross dressing, frog catching friend. I use the term “friend” loosely, because it appears that they didn’t know each other for very long, maybe even for only a day or so. However, I could be wrong, but I can’t be for certain because the writing and dialogue is so choppy and awkward.

**It’s also important to note that her use of slang speak for that era as well as the over use of French is too much for any relatively sane person to bear. Not only was it pure torture, but there seems to be some backlash concerning whether or not the slang is actually correct for the time period. I haven’t researched this personally, but it needs to be included in the review regardless, because it’s such a huge part of her story and the way she lays it out for her readers.

My general feeling:

I absolutely loved Donoghue’s book Room, so I really wanted to like this book, because I’ve seen how talented she is as a writer; I know how well she can grab hold of my emotions and bend them at her will, page by page. For that reason, I won’t give up on her. She’s worth another chance.

~Rebbie

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6582211-rebbie

Leave a Reply

